Tina Lives!

Tina Lives!

a podcast

TINA LIVES is a raw and engaging, street-smart story about growing up hippie, growing up hard and coming of age while living a life that mirrors the collapse and burnout of the hippie movement by the early eighties.

ACT I: Wheels of Internment

EPISODE 1: Tina, a six year old working class kid from Cleveland, burns down the house where she and her family live.

EPISODE 2: Tina’s parent’s Jim and Diana were “hip” not “square,” but also violent. The house that Tina burnt down was a refuge home after Jim broke Diana’s nose for the last time.

EPISODE 3: Diana marries a social worker named Paul. They save their pennies and buy an old Vietnamese Army bus converted into a camper and the family sets off to California to join the counter-culture movement.

EPISODE 4: The family’s travel adventure is often marred by Diana’s erratic and violent episodes, but the majesty of America has the power to soothe the otherwise rough road to becoming “hippies.”

EPISODE 5: After a bit of a respite in Cleveland, the family once again takes off for the West Coast. En route, they find themselves in the middle of a violent riot that took place in Grant Park, Chicago, Ill on July 27, 1970.

EPISODE 6: The family finally makes it to a commune in Oregon, but bus-living in the winter is no fun, so they move to a house in the nearest town. Diana finds a new boyfriend; Paul leaves, but returns when Tina gets a hernia. Diana says goodbye to her boyfriend and the family heads to Sacramento, CA.

EPISODE 7: The family heads to Northwest Arkansas to investigate living on a commune, but instead takes up residence in a house in Fayetteville. Tina is sent to the attic for weeks as punishment for an unknown crime.


EPISODE 8: For no apparent reason, the state of Massachusetts was pulled out of a hat and the family hits the road for the East Coast. Along the way, Tina notices her mother’s beauty had faded and her demeanor had become menacing. Tina is blindsided by a pit stop on their journey.

EPISODE 9: Tina loves foster care! But alas, that residence also comes to an end. In New Bedford, Mass, Tina finds beauty in a neighbor and sometimes even in her mother.

EPISODE 10: The family moves to a spooky house on a hill. Tina plays “school” in school, and then regrets ever having, what she considered, “the best idea ever.”

EPISODE 11: Tina receives an unexpected phone call that changes the course of a lifetime.
This is the end of Act 1. Act 2 will begin on October 19.

ACT II: A Magic Brownie Kind of Life

EPISODE 1: Tina has no memory of traveling from Massachusetts to Arkansas. She only remembers her first impressions of the basement apartment, which will become her new home in Fayetteville, Arkansas with Gorton Darling Hitte.

EPISODE 2: Tina goes on a matchmaking mission to unite Gorton and her chosen surrogate mother, and a Family Called Us moves into a new home of communal living.

EPISODE 3: Tina sees one too many naked people, gets a best friend, and learns about magic brownies, all while her shyness sheds and the consequences of her previous life becomes uncomfortably self-evident.

EPISODE 4: Tina pushes Bob Tarlow right over the edge, checks out the “straight life,” and crumbles to pieces under the weight of Tea for the Tillerman.

EPISODE 5: Tina has sticky fingers, Gorton has blood on his hands, and A Family Called Us does a naked ritual.

EPISODE 6: While the daffodils bloom, the winds of change come to Fayetteville, and Tina and Billy take the long way home for the very last time. This is the end of Act II.

ACT III: Southern Death Trip

EPISODE 1: Gorton cleans up his act, Tina puts her adolescence down for a nap, and Dinah Shore hosts David Bowie on her daytime chat show.

EPISODE 2: Thai Stick is not food, grown-ups are not always responsible, and Kathy and Tony end up on television.

EPISODE 3: At The Heartbreak Hotel, Tina discovers the essence of Gorton, touches the fleeting tendrils of tenderness, and morphs her twinkling naivety into what she hopes will be a harder, sturdier version of herself.

EPISODE 4: Tina, now known as Kris, lives a life that mirrors the ethos of the hippies, “Radical Change.” Pivotal people present themselves, while cornerstones of the past, crumble.

Episode 5: Kris/Tina deals, more or less with Gorton’s death, discovers her fate, while the foreshadowing of her future rests heavy on her mind, spirit, and body.

Episode 6: Kris gets rowdy with a therapist, and “Disco Sucks” for some people, but not for Kris and her new gay friends.

Episode 7: The long awaited “R" rated episode of life takes Kris for a ride in a silver Camero.

Episode 8: “Like sands through the hour glass,” Andy’s out and Sue B. is in. Kris and Martha take it to the next level, and relocate to Boston for a New York minute.

Episode 9: Martha & Sue exit stage left. 1980 has its JFK moment, and Quaaludes erase the nation’s pain and Kris’ financial well-being.

Episode 10: When there is no more money & no more dirty heads, Kris reaches out to Mick Jagger, falls in love (again), and begins a dark and dangerous chapter of life.

Episode 11: Kris’ proclivity for falling in love takes her down some of the most perilous streets of Little Rock.

Episode 12: A respite in self-destructive behavior is a welcome change when Kris discovers she is pregnant.

Episode 13: Love is a dirty and manipulative business, and Kris loves Lill & Gary, so once again she tags along for a new adventure on the darker side of, dark and destructive.

Episode 14: They say when you are least looking for it that’s when it arrives: love, magic, destiny all better when they arrive together.

Episode 15: This is the second to last episode of Tina Lives. It is not the prettiest of pictures, but it is The Smallest Mountain Yet.

Episode 16: This is the final episode of Tina Lives! Thank you so much for listening!

MUSIC CREDITS: Quivvver, Kevin MacLeod-incompetect.com, Drama Club Romance/Julian Berosh, Johnny Berosh, Musopen.org, Komiku@freepd.com, Michael Tarbox/Tarbox Ramblers, Melatonin, Jesse S. Gallagher@nightimegallagher, Migk Ware, Ronald Fulton, DÆphne, Mobygratis.com, Jeff Kaale, Baby Beets, The 7th House, Badfinger, Donovan, CSN&Y, Cat Stevens, Journey, Big Country


A stunning story of victory and survival in the peace and love generation. This voice must be heard! Bravo, Tina, Bravo!

Epidsode 7 is the most powerful chapter yet in this stunning saga of one child's journey in this world. It is here that we begin to learn and understand the insidious and terrifying depths of insanity and abuse of the emotional assault on Tina by her mother. I am still reeling in pain for this child. Schatzi Riley

I am simply speechless after listening to episode 10. Oh Tony. Schatzi Riley

I eagerly await each episode and none of them disappoints. Number 11 left me ready for 12. Only 2 days left before the story continues. Again I say, Bravo Tina! Beautifully written.

OK, I am hooked. Where is my new Monday episode? what will happen now? Schatzi

I am so proud to be mentioned in Act 3, Episode 3. At the time I was such a bit player in your life. I am honored and proud to have known you these last 10 years or so on a much deeper level. You rock it girlfriend.

This story continues to be riveting and powerful. Thank you Kris/Tina for sharing such an intimate and powerful story of your life. Your survival shows us what real strength is.